The power of the mind.

Since I was a kid I have been always passionate about the mind and specially human behavior.

I remember it was my personal hobby to anticipate what my friends , family , and even strangers were going to do or say and most of the time I was right.

Of course I wouldn’t recommend this as a healthy hobby ,  this brought me to disconnect with myself since I was too interested to figure out why people were behaving like they were doing and not owning my present moment.

If you ask me why , I would say , who knows. Maybe ,  I was just trying to escape from my own reality and trying to anticipate any upcoming pain to my life.

Year by year this habit only got bigger.. It was something I couldn’t stop, to the point that I had created my own world in my mind and i felt a total stranger from reality.

Adults for me were only robots , regardless the pain or harm they were doing to themselves there was nothing they could do to stop it.

Religion was totally pointless for me , I never understood how so many people could believe in something without having a reasonable explanation about God.

Love , why would someone would risk themselves knowing that most likely there was going to be pain in the future.

Life,  was a place were you come to suffer , grind and fight, but always knowing this is a fight you cant win.

But then I understood something :

That’s Life!

“There is no such a thing as darkness. Darkness is the absence of light. And cold is the absence of heat. As hate is the absence of love”

We are here in this world not only to suffer but to live.

Whenever you feel lonely , sad or hopeless embrace it with all your heart.

That’s where you are AT THIS MOMENT ! But its up to you to get out of there or not.

If you are in a position of you life were you know you are not longer happy but you don’t know what to do I would recommend you this :

Find a quiet place , grab a chair take a few deep breaths and relax.

Clear your mind , me I like to think about me facing a BIG WHITE WALL where there is nothing else but us.

Think about where you are at this moment and why you are not happy. Then I want you to think what can be done to be happy and most important I want you to picture yourself being happy.

For example , If you are in a job that you don’t like anymore. I want you to think why you don’t like this job and to picture yourself doing whatever would make you happy at this moment.

Forget about the money , the rent , your friends or your career.

Don’t think about anybody else BUT YOU!!

For example, lets say you are doubting to break up with you boyfriend don’t think about hurting his feelings ,about his family , your future etcetera.

The key about this exercise is to make your unconscious to tell you what you really want and then you would find the way to make it happen in reality.

Im not religious person but when Jesus said :

“Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

He was totally right. The main difference between us and kids is their ability to dream .

For instance when I was a kid a wanted to a be a professional football player.

That was my dream but unconsciously I never believed I was going to make it.

Why?

Because as I was growing up I started listening to the voices in my head saying :

You are not good enough.

You will not make it , start doing something useful with your life.

What makes you think you are different from other kids ?

And then I lost my spark .

Now what I’m trying to ask you here is to silence all those voices in your head  like:

How are you going to pay the rent? What is your mom going to say about that? What if you don’t make enough money? What if you fail and you have to go back to your previous job?

I think our biggest mistake is to think we have time. Sorry to tell you but we don’t have time , If you don’t do anything to be happy today you will not be happy tomorrow.

Every day you spend in that wrong relationship , wrong job , wrong country you are wasting your opportunity to be where you are really suppose to be.

This is because the mind is powerfull enough to paralize you if you let it.

The mind is just trying to protect your from pain and failure.

Mind is like that mom that doesn’t let you go out on Friday night because something bad might happen to you.

And there is truth on that , getting out of your comfort zone might hurt you , there is failure , pain and loneliness but I’m telling you is totally worth it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

